Posted by: Praise Goh | October 22, 2007

A Word of Wisdom, a Word of Praise


Tonto was his name. Wild, crazy, charging to be free. He was a beautiful horse, but had a mind of his own. He wanted to be in charge, lead the way. During our ride, I noticed how he would get distracted and veer off the path. Tugging at his reigns, he resisted my attempts to get him back on the straight and narrow. His mind was fixated on little patches of grass and dead branches. Frustrated, I asked him, why are you chewing on dead branches when there’s a whole field of grass waiting for you at the end of the road?! It suddenly hit me, um, God moment, yes. Praise, why do you settle for dead branches and patches of grass when there is a field of abundance awaiting you? If only you would wait, if only you would allow me to lead you on this path. It was a pretty major aha moment in my life. I shared this with Shane the other night, and he was inspired to write this beautiful poem. Amazing.

A Word of Wisdom, a Word of Praise
By Shane

Don’t misinterpret my intent
The woman kindly said to me
Its just I see you’re struggling
So let me help to set you free

A lonely horse along the road
Might chew on thistles, sticks and stones
In hopes of nourishing his bones
Worried if not, that he might die

When all along just down the road
A lush meadow would unfold
If only he would off and go
And leave the sticks and stones to lie

Rest now, and in the morning light
We might see if I’m right
Dream your peaceful dreams tonight
And leave your sticks and stones behind


Leave a comment

Categories